Book review: ‘Heir of Fire’ by Sarah J. Maas

Okay, I haven’t done one of these in a while and am a little rusty, so don’t hate on me too much if this is a terrible review.

I read this book quite a while back, which really doesn’t help my struggling to write this review. Truth be told, I can’t actually remember a whole lot of it, but I think that’s more down to me not enjoying it very much, more than me having read it so long ago.

Heir of Fire is the third book in a series of 6, I believe, though not all of them have yet been released, or even written, for that matter.
I have read the first two installations in the Throne of Glass series (Throne of Glass and Heir of FIre), as well as the prequel novellas that have been compiled into The Assassin’s Blade, and, with the exception of the novellas which I didn’t enjoy too much at all, the series seems to be getting progressively worse with each book.

On a whole I enjoy the books and the series, but when the end of the series comes, I  think I’ll be forcing myself to finish that last book.
Anyway, on to the book!

It’s already been made pretty clear that I was not overly fond of this book. It had its good parts and bad parts, as almost all books do, but the bad outweighed the good.
The story and the characters have all become a lot more cliché in this instalment. Celaena, despite revealing her true self and becoming this magically powered Fae queen, has fallen victim to a typical love story with her bad-boy, Fae, soldier boyfriend, and their hate/love relationship.
Alongside becoming cliché, everything has become very predictable, even more so than it already was.
Another thing I disliked about this book, and this goes for the entire series, is that there is a serious lack of progression, for both characters and writing. Everything I’m reading not only feels as though it’s been repeated a hundred times, but the writing itself hasn’t aged, or matured, or grown. And if I have to read a ‘phantom’ simile or metaphor one more time, I may start tippexing the damn book. As for the characters, while they may be becoming more powerful or have new things happening in their lives, they are the same things but simply told differently, or things end up exactly like they were beforehand.
The books have lost all of their shock and awe factor, with everything moving at a turtle’s pace, if that turtle was a baby and that baby turtle was dragging weights through thick mud. This book could have had at least a third cut out.
The last thing I will slate about this book is the constant switching between characters and stories. One minute I’m reading about Celaena, then it’s Chaol, then it’s Dorian, then it’s Dorian through the nurse’s eyes, then it’s Chaol through Dorian’s eyes, then it’s Celaena through her instructor/boyfriend’s eyes – UGH!

Okay, now the good things. Hmm. Good things…
Well, one good thing is Chaol, and if he ever dies or if his character gets ruined, I am going to drop this series like a ton of bricks. I think Chaol is a great character, and one of the few in these books that I actually enjoy. It was refreshing to see him finally having his own story, rather than just being a side to Dorian or Celaena.
The balance of humour, action, romance, and everything else of the sort is still enjoyable. If I’m honest, I think most of the good things about this book are simply things that haven’t been ruined from the previous books. I can’t seem to think of anything that this book brings that is both, good and new.


Given the lack of progression in style, writing, and characters, I recommend this to the same audience that I have the first two instalments.

 2.3/5.0

BUY YOUR COPY HERE!

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

