Book review – ‘The Way of Shadows’ by Brent Weeks

Oh my God! Where do I even begin?

This book is absolutely astounding! I had doubts about it when reading the first chapter, but as soon as that was done with, I didn’t want to put it down. I loved almost every second of it.
If I’m being honest, it’s hard to think of very many faults with this book, if any.
I’ve never read a Brent Week book before, and had never heard of him (and probably never would have) until  my brother in law’s friend recommended this book to me, and leant it to me, too.
It’s an incredible mixture of everything I love about books. The storyline was breathtaking- with so much diversity, and so many surprises, which continue until the very end of the book, it’s hard to not want to read on. In fact, if I had the second book in my possession, I would start reading the moment I finish this post.
All of the characters develop so naturally with the book, and become so much more complex and rich as their back-stories are revealed. Also, with such a wide array of characters on offer (some quite literally), it’s going to be difficult for anyone to not become invested in or emotional towards at least one or two of them. I, personally, absolutely hate Roth, I connect with Elene and Logan, think Momma K is such a real character, and just flat out love Durzo Blint.
The book is exceptionally well balanced – no, not its weight. It manages to maintain non-stop action throughout, without taking anything away from the storyline  or the progression of the book. Not to mention the concoction of other things working alongside the action: romance, comedy (Dorian is hilarious, oh my God!), the development and unravelling of a fantasy world, the tackling of real life problems, and so much more.

The world is one I find particularly capturing. So dark and so corrupt, I was always going to love it. I’d say it’s unlike any world I’ve ever read about or seen before, but that would simply not be true. To be perfectly candid, it seems to me that a couple of popular stories and worlds have spawned from this one, and have, not necessarily ripped it off, but have definitely stolen a few things from it. The first one that comes to mind is the Game of Thrones series. Now, I haven’t actually read the Game of Thrones books, but, if they are anything like the TV show, I feel the world of Westeros definitely owes a few thanks to Mr Weeks. Another world this book seems a little too similar to, to me, is Erilea, the fantasy world created by Sarah J. Maas. In the case of Erilea, it’s more the story of the Throne of Glass series that is similar, not the actual world.
The world of Midcyru, the world of The Night Angel trilogy, is built on such strong foundations, and has so much depth, that it almost seems real – very cliché, I know. Everything about it is so amazing. From the slums to the castles, from the assassins to the wetboys, from the wytches to the vurdmeisters, from the prostitutes to the kings, from bottom to top, the world is full of ingenuity and brilliance.

Not only does Brent Weeks have a talent for world creation, character development, and narrative, he is also a genuinely and generally amazing writer. He’s the type of writer you can’t get bored of. His timing is excellent, his wordplay is brilliant, he is well structured, he isn’t repetitive like a lot of writers, he really connects to the reader and makes the book seem so real, and the list goes on.
I would say that the only problem I have found with his writing is that, while he does make you feel emotion towards the characters and the book, he doesn’t make the emotions strong, like, at all.


I think this book is absolutely amazing, for all the reasons that I have just given, and more. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys dark fantasy, action, the Game of Thrones series, and or the Throne of Glass series. Just, don’t read it if you’re like ten years old or something. Teens and above, guys and girls, teens and above.

4.4/5.0

BUY YOUR COPY HERE!

3 thoughts on “Book review – ‘The Way of Shadows’ by Brent Weeks

  1. Lois

    Okay, I am definitely sold. To start, I absolutely love the book cover. I hadn’t heard of this book prior to reading the review but it definitely sounds like everything I could possibly want in a fantasy. From the world building, to the character development and action. What more could you possibly ask for. I will definitely be adding this book to my never ending to be read list. Great review. 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. Josh Hart Post author

      I’m so glad you want to read this book, it’s SO amazing! I don’t know if it’s very famous or not, but I never hear anyone talk about it, so the more readers the merrier! Hahha, I would bet your TBR list isn’t as long as mine. Let me know what you think of the book, if you ever get round to reading it 😉 And, thanks very much 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

