Book review : The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien (edited by Christopher Tolkien)

For so long I have been wanting to read this book, and around two weeks ago, I finally did it. I have had it for almost a year, and it has been on my TBR list for I don’t even know how long. Having now read it, I have so many thoughts on the book; but not that many that I can put into a book review.
This book is actually a little hard to review, as the book (or at least my copy – I don’t know if they all do); while having a key story and narrative; it is actually compiled of a number of, what I could probably call short stories. There also aren’t chapters in this book, rather just sections. And then there are also sections containing those sections, and more sections for those sections… Yeah, I know right.

Anyway, I have a review to write!


Being a Middle-Earth book, The Silmarillion naturally interests me right off the bat. For me the book actually began with notes from both Christopher, and John Tolkien, as well as a letter written by the latter, sent to a  publisher. From this point, to the very end, I found this book to actually be very educational on the topic of book writing. I feel having read this, I now have much more potential to become a professional writer.

Other than being a lesson in writing for myself, the book was very interesting, from cover to cover. All of the stories gave such a history to Middle-Earth (in fact, this novel is actually more like a history textbook), and were all so interesting. All of the background of characters and places and ideas were all so original, and worked so well. Reading something like this; with nothing else like it, just makes you want to never stop reading; because you never know what could come next.

I also absolutely love that this book uses our world’s history, and incorporates and alters it to suit the stories of Middle-Earth. After all, Arda (the world containing Middle-Earth, is based on ours). This also gives such a sense of realism to the fictional world.

The book has everything. From violence, blood lust, and darkness; to romance, and light, and beauty. All of the small tales add up to one epic history, and novel, and is definitely something I could read again.

I had no problems reading this book whatsoever, and got through it in about 2 or 3 days. However, if you aren’t used to the world, or the writing style, or just books of this caliber, then you may need a lot of time to read this book. However, you will be so captured by it, that if you don’t read it fast enough, then you may find yourself not moving or eating or sleeping for days on end…

My favourite part of the entire book was Of Beren and Luthien. This is once of the romance tales from the book, but also contains snippets of so many other genres. The tale is absolutely astounding, and is the best love story I have ever read. I am not ashamed at all to say that it brought tears to my eyes. I cannot overstate how much I enjoyed this tale; I am actually planning on getting a tattoo based upon it, I love it that much!

Overall the book was absolutely amazing, and I cannot think of a single fault with it. Tolkien writes yet another masterpiece (credit must also go to Christopher Tolkien, for editing and finishing the book), and the world is in awe.

I recommend this book to absolutely anyone and everyone – providing you are over the age of around 13, lest you get terrifically bored of it, or fail to simply read it. I particularly urge aspiring writers, and anyone interested in that sort of field, as it will teach you so much. I personally think this – along with his other works – should go down in history as classic books: and I do believe they will.

Entertainment rating – 4.7/5
Literary rating – 5/5


BUY YOUR OWN COPY HERE!

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

