Book review: Bone Quill – John and Carole E Barrowman

As any of my frequent readers can imagine: I’m not too excited about writing this review. I read Hollow Earth – the prequel to Bone Quill – quite some time ago, and it took me so long to finish, as I found it SO boring. If you care to see my thoughts on Hollow Earth, then please go read my review. But, I digress…

Bone Quill was a lot more interesting than its predecessor, and I feel that is because it is a little more mature, and grown up than Hollow Earth. The characters, the scenery, and the story, are actually all virtually the same as before; however, it has a lot more of a dark side to it, and is much more intense.

Even though I feel the book wasn’t overly fun to read, I think that is because of the book’s characteristics, and not the stories. For example, the book is aimed at children, and not young-adults, and so naturally it is a lot less emotional, and less powerful than the books I would normally indulge in. The story, on the other hand, was actually very unique and interesting.

The book is very diverse, as it leads its readers through a variety of time periods, scenarios, characters, twists and turns in its plot, and much much more.

With everything going on however, it is still a very predictable story, and as long as you have also read Hollow Earth; then like me, you will most likely guess the entire story right from the start.

One of the two main characters – Matt, is possibly one of the most annoying characters of whom I have ever read about, and every time he has his own part in the story, I want to kill him.

I’m afraid I don’t have much to say on this book, as it really did nothing for me, and was virtually the same as its first. I feel this post has kind of been pointless, but I review every book I read, and have simply been dying to get this one out of the way.

It’s a good read for children, but if you are older than twelve, it’s probably best to just leave it alone.

I give it 2/5 for entertainment, and absolutely jack for literary.

One thought on “Book review: Bone Quill – John and Carole E Barrowman

  1. Pingback: Monthly wrap-up and June TBR | Been There, Read That

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

