Book review: The Hobbit (There and Back Again) – J.R.R Tolkien

I read this masterpiece when I was a young child, and have long anticipated the re-reading of it. My plans were, however, stumped by the release of the movies, as I had forgotten large portions of the book, and didn’t want any more spoilers than I already had. Now however, the movies are finished, and I have at last re-read this most wonderful tale.

Tolkien is my favorite author of all time, and he is my inspiration for writing, and is the reason I do what I do. To me, his works are – perhaps not flawless – but are perfect nonetheless. And The Hobbit is no exception.

The book is a continuous adventure, always bringing in new characters, plots, twists and turns, and numerous other unexpected things. There is never a dull page, and each page is much beyond ordinary. The very way the story is written is fascinating to me, as it is one of the few story books for a wide demographic readership, that is actually told as a story, as though you would tell your children a story before bedtime. This is no doubt due to the fact that Tolkien originally planned for this tale to simply be a story for his children, and never expected it to become a worldwide phenomenon.

The book takes the reader through an emotional ringer, and will have you in tears of joy, and sadness, and laughter, and will at times have your mouth forming a perfect ‘O’. It is hard to say what kind of readers this book is meant for – whether it be old, young, male, female, or even readers of certain genres; this book has it all. The simplicity of the book does suggest it is for a younger readership; however, the emotions and language used could aim it at an older audience; and the conflict of light and dark moments keeps all readers enthralled.

It is actually hard for me to form an intelligent, coherent thought on this book, as not only did it leave me emotionally in shambles; but there is so much to this book, that it would be an impossible task to talk about all of it, or to even to select certain moments.

Anyone who is a regular reader and film watcher such as myself, shall know that there is always differences between the version on paper, and the version on screen. This is especially true for The Hobbit. As I have said, I cannot quite put my finger on specific points about this book, but if there was ever a good enough reason to read this book, it would be to see the story as it was meant to be told.

If I am really honest, I expect most readers have actually already had their mind blown by this book, and so there isn’t much to say that you don’t already know. What I can say is that this book serves as both an entertaining pass-time, and a perfect partner for literature. There are literally dozens of interesting literary points and themes within this book, and I feel that even the most esteemed writers could learn something from Tolkien’s work.

Though his descriptions in this novel are not quite as detailed and vivid as that of his other works, or of other authors, you still have enough to build a good image in your mind of what is happening; and realistically, this book is so interesting, that you could probably enjoy the entire story without knowing a single character’s name, and with absolutely no knowledge of what they look like.

Something that I think all readers can agree on about this book, is that even though the world is fantasy, and has actually begun its roots as a permanent mythology, it actually doesn’t seem too far-fetched when you are reading it, as Tolkien has put in so much time, and effort, and detail, and structure to this world, that it almost seems real.

I would recommend this book to all readers – not only for its brilliance and entertainment, but also because this book can be enjoyed by anyone, and it is a perfect work of literature, and has made its mark on the reading world, and rightly so.

I give this book a 4.7/5 for entertainment, and the same for its literary review.

I understand this review isn’t too helpful, and isn’t up to my usual standard, but honestly! if you wish to know what this book is like and what it is all about, and why it has caused such a commotion in the reading world, you need to read it for yourself.

4 thoughts on “Book review: The Hobbit (There and Back Again) – J.R.R Tolkien

    1. joshhart97 Post author

      Anytime. You should check out some of my other reviews! LOTR is my favourite book of all time! It’s strange how differently you see the book after some years without reading it.

      Like

      Reply

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

