Book review: The Lord of The Rings – J.R.R Tolkien

The Lord of The Rings – arguably one of the most well known, and loved stories of all time, is both my favorite book, and favorite movie series, and the story is one I cherish very dearly. This book is my biggest, and first inspiration, not just for writing, but for my entire life. I grew up with this story, and my love for it has never wavered – not even for a second. In my opinion, Tolkien is the greatest writer that has ever lived, and his story is one that should, and will go down in history.

These books have more of a personal meaning to me than any other book (or any other thing, for that matter), and so I could easily get sidetracked, and go on in great lengths about things, that shouldn’t be in a review; and so I will try and avoid anything that doesn’t need to be here.

The way in which Tolkien writes is astounding. Now, I know this book was written many, many years ago, and so a lot of the language used in  the books was quite common for someone of his generation, but nevertheless, the language used is such a big part of the story, and really helps keep things in the fantasy world of Middle-Earth. Also, the language used makes keeps these books interesting, as a lot of readers will never have come across some of the words and terminology used, and so the book is like nothing they’ve ever read, and always has the qualities of originality and difference.

However, it isn’t just certain words that Tolkien uses that keeps the books interesting with its use of language. The Lord of The Rings is easily the most detailed, descriptive, vivid book that I have ever read, and when you are reading it, you can not only imagine and picture what you are reading, but it is like it is actually there, and that it is actually happening around you.

You can clearly see every last inch, of every single person, or landscape, or building, or creature, and that is something that I have never experienced with another writer. Other than the fact of wanting to write like this, and wanting to make a good book; I read something online that Tolkien intended for his work on Middle-Earth, to become like a new religion, or legend, that would go down generations, and be remembered as more than just a story. I think he has exceeded any expectations and hopes that he had in this, as he has created a world so vast, and a story so original, and detailed, and filled, that it definitely comes across as more than just a story.

Another reason I love these books is that Tolkien puts detail into more than just his descriptions. He dedicated most of his life to his work with Middle-Earth, and it definitely shows in his work. He has created so much in these worlds: lands, creatures, people, languages, histories, back stories, myths, legends, tales, songs, and so much more, that it is actually like reading a mythological bible.

Now, I am trying to keep this review short, but it clearly isn’t working. There is just so much to write about! Do bear with me though…

Okay, I’ll move on from his language and such, and move onto my actual thoughts on the book.

The Lord of The Rings, even when split into three separate books, is still rather long, and so most people do tend to stop reading before they reach the end. Those people are idiots. Though some may consider my opinion biased because I love the book so much; this book is well worth the time it takes to read. The book is interesting, intriguing, and simply great, for so many reasons. It does of course have its dull pages – usually when a scene is being set – however, don’t all books have dull pages? There are so many reasons to get through them, and read the rest of the book.

The story is constantly becoming more interesting, as new characters, new locations, and new events come to take their part. There is always something happening.

Another thing that makes this book so good, is the relationships that it holds. Frodo and Sam; Merry and Pippin; Legolas and Gimli; Aragorn and Arwen; and so many more. Each one is unique, and each one has its own story to tell. The relationships also give the reader something to relate to in the fantasy world, and so this makes the story more personal for a lot of people.

The book, like most good books, tackles many important issues that affect the real world. One of the biggest themes in this book is industry. I won’t go into it, but the basic idea is that industry and war are destroying our world, and that it needs to change, and Tolkien uses his world to show us what will happen if we don’t. However, the biggest theme; I believe, is hope.

Anyway, I’m getting off topic again. I will end this most strange of reviews here, for I will go on forever if I can.

I think this book deserves a 5/5 from a literary point of view, for so many reasons, and I believe this to be one of the most important writings of all time. And from me personally, I give it a 6/5, because I can, and it is above everything else that I know.

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

