Book review: Harry Potter (series) – J.K. Rowling

The Harry Potter series is the first full set of books that I read all of the way through. Although this means that I have quite a personal bond with this book series, it also means that it was a long time ago when I read these books, and so all of the stuff that I should have to say, I’ve actually forgotten.

The Harry Potter books are probably the most famous children stories to date, and basically everyone everywhere knows about it. Harry Potter easily lived up to the expectations that came with it, and it was the perfect way for me to start my life with books.

With the exception of book five – Harry Potter and the Order of The Phoenix, I thoroughly enjoyed all of the books, all of the way through. Each book got progressively darker than its predecessor, and as we got around to the last one, I actually felt as though the books had moved on from a child demographic, and had moved to focus more on teens and young adults.

Thinking about it now, this does actually make more sense than keeping the books for the same target audience all the way through, because the fans who had been reading them since the very start, would have grown and aged, and so the books grew alongside their readers. This is one of the reasons why Harry Potter was such a big part of so many people’s lives.

The books are a good starting point for anyone who is to get into books or writing; whether they want to be a writer, or if they want to learn more about literature and language, or if they simply want to start reading for the fun of it. There are many reasons behind this, and these are but a few: one reason for this is because the books have so many different sides to them. The books not only entertain the reader, but they also take you through basically all of your emotions; they show good and evil in the stories; and they are childish, yet talk about many pressing and important issues that are part of everyone’s lives. The books are fairly complex books for children, however, easily readable by them, meaning these books set them up for harder reads in the future. A third reason is that – as I’ve already said – the books grow and progress with the reader; which not only means you get new stories, and new twists, and new styles of writing; but also means that you aren’t stuck reading children’s books. You are able to grow and progress as a reader, as you advance through the different levels of reading ages.

I know I am writing a lot about the literary side of these books, but I feel it is very necessary, as they are such important books in today’s book culture, and should be read and or looked at by anyone interested in books, writing, or literature.

Now, onto the actual reviewing of the series…

Overall I thought the series was a very good read, and took me on a journey beyond the world of Harry Potter. I was tossed and turned between my emotions, however, not as quickly as I would like (though credit must be given as they are mostly aimed at children). However, having said that, some of the emotions that I was offered up to, I fell very hard into them. I distinctly remember reading the first book – the scene in the forbidden forest – and not being able to sleep with the light off, as it spooked my rather a lot. Also, *SPOILER ALERT!* I did shed quite a few tears when Dobby the elf died.

The books were very intriguing, and actually had quite a few sides to them which most people wouldn’t expect to be there. For example, there is quite a lot of mystery in the books, which keeps the reader guessing, and keeps them interested.

Another thing is the romance between some of the characters. The main focus of course being Ron and Hermionie, however, there is also quite a lot of focus on Harry and Ginny. Something that was very interesting about the books, is that unlike the films, the relationship side of Harry Potter actually has a big sense of realism about it, and the relationships are much like what people have in real life, allowing the readers to relate to these books, as they grow with them, and go through the same struggles.

All of the books are well structured, well laid out, and well paced. Well, other than the fifth one, that book dragggggggged. There’s not too much to say about the actual quality of the books, as their many awards and such, speak for themselves.

I could go on about the literature, but this is a review; not a study. The series gets a 4.5/5 for its set audience, and for me personally I give it a 3.5/5

I suggest anyone with kids to get them these books, and I promise you they will both enjoy them, and that they will want to continue reading.

4 thoughts on “Book review: Harry Potter (series) – J.K. Rowling

  1. thegreatindianhypocrite

    HP was the first ever series I read too. It will always have a special place in my heart. I agree with what you said about the books growing along with their readers, which I think was sheer brilliance on the part of J.K Rowling. Great post 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. joshhart97 Post author

      Thank you 🙂 There are so many things that people miss when they read books like this, but J.K Rowling has definitely done well by anyone actually paying attention, beyond the story. You should check out some of my other posts 🙂

      Like

      Reply

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

