Book review: Hunger Games (series) – Suzanne Collins

I read the first one in a matter of 3-4 days. It was a brilliant piece of literature and was one of the most exhilarating though provoking, relatable , realistically fake, wonderful and best written books I’ve ever read. It was unbelievable how quickly I got sucked into the book; especially considering I thought the film was appalling. The way the book is written; in the format of a sort of lifetime diary, is astounding. It really shows the story should be told, and not in the way the director had perceived it. Everything about it was wonderful and actually made me realise a good deal of things that are, aren’t and should be important in my life. In my opinion, this is what a book should do, and if an author can create a book that does this, then they’ve written a masterpiece. A lot of the details from the book stuck in my head, whereas almost none did from the film. One thing especially is the bread being given by Peeta to Katniss. The image is perfectly planted in my brain of a girl looking through trash cans and a bright golden light through a doorway and the bread being burned hard and slightly black on the bottom and the pigs and the giving and receiving and the hitting from Peeta’s mum to him and the taste of the bread is even in my mouth and the mud and squelchiness of the floor and the heavy downpour of rain.

What I really liked about this book – and series – is that they are very original in so many ways. The very story line of the entire series is riveting. I personally have a deep love for this, and the other books, because they are set in a world that, though it isn’t real, it is something that could easily be. I also really enjoy the characters of Peeta and Gale (mostly Gale), and so I was quite disappointed that Gale didn’t have a bigger part, and that those two don’t have much time together.

The second book – Catching Fire – was said by many to be the best book of the three; I on the other hand, think it is by far the worst one. The book is boring, and drags out, and doesn’t have any emotional scenes in it what-so-ever. Literally, none. Not even a little happy scene or something, it’s like it is completely blank. This got me very bored, very quick. I did of course finish the book, but was overall disappointed with it.

Now… Mockingjay… this is the one! Mockingjay was easily my favorite of the three, and not just because there is lots of action, which is the reason most people seem to think. This book showed a lot more of the other characters, and was definitely the most emotional. I actually had a tear in my eye at a certain part: *SPOILER ALEART* when Katniss reads the message from Cinna.

I do have to say however, – and a lot of people will probably thoroughly disagree with me on this – that I thought the ending of the book was actually really awful. There was no closure on so many different things, nearly all of the characters were just blanked, and the last line or so was so cheesy, and actually really mean. In conjunction to this, I would also like to point out that I really don’t like the character of Katniss.

Anyway, the ending… I really feel Suzanne should have closed more doors, so to speak, and that the sudden ending of the relationship between Gale and Katniss was a horrendous decision on her part. On this point, I have read something online (I don’t know if it’s real) a epilogue for Gale’s character, which was a really good ending (for what there was to work with), and should have been in the book.

And that last line. UGH! I hated it! It was actually kind of cruel of Katniss to ask that question, and make Peeta answer, because it is basically her saying “even though you’ve done all of the stuff for me that you have, and that you have constantly told me, and that we’ve gone through everything that we have, do you even actually love me?!?” Aghhhh! It’s terrible.

Now, these books aren’t as easy to write about as the other books I’ve discussed, as they are written, in my opinion, almost solely for entertainment purposes, and so there is less literary points to discuss. Also, these books don’t really have any personal meaning to myself. This leaves me solely with just my opinion on them, and so I do apologise if this review isn’t up to my usual standard.

What are you thoughts? Comment here!

